Squid-2.6 + TPROXY + Debian

by

Jason Healy posted some useful information to the squid-users list a week or so ago.

Quoting:

I’ve been a happy user of Squid for the past 10 years or so, and I’d like to take a second to thank everyone who has worked so hard to make such a great piece of software!  I’d like to give back to the Squid community, but unfortunately I’m not much of a C hacker.  However, I’m hoping I can still help.

I’ve just spent a few days getting my school’s Squid install up to date (we were running 2.5 on Debian Woody).  I switched to using tproxy this time around (we used to do policy routing on our core, but it was spiking the CPU too much).  Thanks to the mailing list, some articles on the web, and a little messing around I was able to get the whole system up and running.  I’ve documented the steps here:

http://web.suffieldacademy.org/ils/netadmin/docs/software/squid/

The document is written for someone with a decent grasp of Linux, and is specifically geared to Debian Etch.  There are some tweaks that are pecific to our install (compile-time flags, mostly), but otherwise it’s pretty generic.  Hopefully, this will help someone else out who’s trying to build a similar system, so I’m posting so it will hit the archives.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Squid-2.6 + TPROXY + Debian”

  1. viewarvind Says:

    Hello all,
    Tproxy-4 patch for squid 2.7 STABLE6 is been released. Tproxy helps in IP spoofing, which means when a browser request for an URL, the client IP is sent to the webserver instead of the proxy server’s IP.
    The patch is available at http://www.visolve.com/squid/squid-tproxy.php
    Squid Tproxy
    Thanks
    visolve Squid Support

  2. anishroy21 Says:

    Hey its really true.
    Nice i took long to find this patch , i recommend to all
    transparent proxy
    –Anish

Leave a Reply

